## MANDATE

Name:	Australian Catholic Council for Pastoral Research
Area(s) of Responsibility:	The Council advises the Permanent Committee on the promotion of the life and mission of the Catholic Church in Australia in the area of pastoral research.
Number of Councillors:	The Council will comprise six (6) councillors, plus two (2) <i>ex officio</i> councillors, being the General Secretary and a representative of the Australian Catholic University.
	A Bishop Delegate will represent the Commission at meetings of the Council and will liaise as required with the Council Chair in between meetings.
	The Director of the National Centre for Pastoral Research will provide support at all meetings of the Council and will liaise as required with the Council Chair in between meetings.
	The Council Chair will ordinarily include the Bishop Delegate or the General Secretary and the Director in discussions and consult them as part of the process of developing advice to the Committee.
Appointment of Councillors:	Following the appointment of members to the Committee at the May Plenary Meeting, the Committee will appoint councillors for the proceeding triennial term and will report these appointments to the Conference at the November Plenary Meeting. The Committee may reappoint councillors for one or two subsequent terms.
Appointment of the Chair:	The Committee, on recommendation from the Council, will appoint the Chair for a triennial term from the membership of the Council.
Frequency and Place of Meetings:	The Council will meet at least biannually, with one of these meetings at a place of mutual convenience. The Council may meet at other times as required using communications technology.
Administrative Support:	The National Centre for Pastoral Research will provide administrative support to the Council.